Jeremy…husband of Catherine, father of Ben, Simeon, Tom, Joshua & Lydia. Up until the end of April 2015, he was pastor/vicar of a group of churches on the edge of Exeter in Devon, UK. In early October 2014, aged 48, he was diagnosed with advanced cancer, a stage four malignant melanoma presenting as a tumour on his lungs. The usual life expectancy is 8-12 months. Then, in late December 2014, 23 year old Ben suffered a seizure. After prolonged medical care for what was most likely to have been a viral infection affecting his brain, Ben died in April 2015. Jeremy has up until recently seemed to have responded well to pioneering immunotherapy treatments that can extend life, but from September 2016 is now facing the fresh development of brain tumours and potentially now just months to live. On January 27th 2017 Jeremy took his last breath and went to be his Lord and Saviour. The family share their thoughts, feelings and reflections as they taJeremy…husband of Catherine, father of Ben, Simeon, Tom, Joshua & Lydia. Up until the end of April 2015, he was pastor/vicar of a group of churches on the edge of Exeter in Devon, UK. In early October 2014, aged 48, he was diagnosed with advanced cancer, a stage four malignant melanoma presenting as a tumour on his lungs. The usual life expectancy is 8-12 months. Then, in late December 2014, 23 year old Ben suffered a seizure. After prolonged medical care for what was most likely to have been a viral infection affecting his brain, Ben died in April 2015. Jeremy has up until recently seemed to have responded well to pioneering immunotherapy treatments that can extend life, but from September 2016 is now facing the fresh development of brain tumours and potentially now just months to live. On January 27th 2017 Jeremy took his last breath and went to be with his Lord and Saviour. The family share their thoughts, feelings and reflections as they take this painful and unexpected journey.

Lydia’s tribute to Jeremy

I don’t really know where to start. My father was the most amazing, inspirational and loving man I have ever met and I’m so blessed and proud to have had the privilege of calling him my father. For as long as I can remember I have always been such a daddy’s girl and loved every single minute I was able to spend with him. I don’t remember much of my early childhood, but one really vivid memory I have with dad was when we played hairdressers. He would sit in the chair while I used my wooden spoons to ‘cut’ his hair and use almost a whole tub of hair gel styling it, and he would sit through this without a single complaint. Even when he was stressed and needed to get work done for church, he would still try to make time for me. Dad also had this really beautiful blue classic Citroen DS, which was occasionally used for weddings, and when I was younger my absolute favourite thing to do was dress up in my dress-up wedding dress and pretend to be a bride. A very precious memory I have of me and dad is when I put on my ‘wedding dress’, mum’s veil and held her fake flowers and then I would sit in the back seat of the decorated DS, while he watched and took pictures being a very proud father of his baby girl.
I think a great way of describing dad is as a big child. One Easter I will never forget is when we were all sat at the kitchen table and he collected all of his Easter eggs and started running around the room, clucking like a chicken and then he would squawk at us if we tried to take the eggs.
As I said, I really don’t remember much of my childhood, but mostly all of the memories I do have, somehow involve him, and as much as I’m struggling with the fact that I can no longer make more memories with him, I feel so much joy about where he now is, and I would not ask him to come back for anything. I’ll miss him like crazy but I know he is now with my brother Ben but most importantly Jesus and I feel so excited for him. So all I can say now is goodbye my precious daddy and as we always used to say to each other, I’ll forever love you to God and back.

Comments on: "Lydia’s tribute to Jeremy" (1)

  1. Rev Simeon Damdar said:

    Dear Lydia, Thank you for your personal comment re DADDY’s GIRL. A number of years ago, your father served the Lord with me in the London City Mission, while we worked in Lewisham.
    He had a great knack for meeting and working among the people there, especially among the children. They loved him. And I would remind him that he is a true LCM, – that is “Lovely Christian Man”. Sometime later, he introduced us to a Dashing young angelic, a speciality of God’s Creation –CATHERINE – Your Mum. So, She also was LCM:- Lovely Christian Maiden, and wow, wow, they truly made LCM…”Lovely Christian Marriage”.

    So I fully understand your experiences as Daddy’s Girl, and can vouch that your parents were, are, very uniquely ACE. And that your Mum is still LCM:- Lovely Christian Mum.

    May your personal faith and testimony during these painful times be a blessing, enriching the lives of your brothers as well, and also to many young people.

    OUR TEARFUL PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU ALL.

    Rev Simeon Damdar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

